Adventure · Research · Walking · Walking Adventures

Walking; The Fun Stuff

Listed below are a few impressive finds whilst doing some walking research..

img-20170103-wa0004

 

The average human walking speed is 3.1 miles per hour, or 5.0 kilometers per hour.

Walking is an effective treatment for depression.

Sleepwalking is called somnambulism, and approximately 18% of the world’s population suffers.

Walking can help reduce the risk of heart attack, lower the risk of developing type 2 diabetes, and can reduce the risk of bone fracture. Brisk walking can reduce stress and depression levels and can greatly improve cancer survival rates.

Walking briskly for a mile in 15 minutes burns approximately the same amount of calories as jogging an equal distance in 8.5 minutes…I’ve never been a very good jogger!

In 1970, 66% of children walked to school. Today, only 13% walk.

Walking reduces the risk of breast and colon cancer.

There are, of course, lots more fun facts that are easily found with a little research (or a quick Google).

Personally, I walk to bond with my family and to explore what’s right outside my front door. I use the hashtag #WalkEssex to link all of the local walks I have completed. So you can head over to Instagram or Twitter to see them all in one place. Feel free to add to the tag, I’d love to see your outdoor adventure if you’ve got outdoors in Essex!

I walk to create my own adventures, and very often there’s not a single soul in sight…utter bliss! I have found it to reduce my stress levels, increase my fitness, help with my creativity and has taught me a great amount.

winterwalk

“All truly great thoughts are conceived while walking.”

– Friedrich Nietzsche, Twilight of the Idols 

Do you have any fun facts about the outdoors to share with me?

S xox

2 thoughts on “Walking; The Fun Stuff

Leave a comment